1. Home
  2. Setup
  3. Levels
  4. Access Settings For Membership Levels

Access Settings For Membership Levels

When creating or editing a membership level, you can set the “access” settings for the membership level under the Access tab. The Access Tab has several options you can set. These include:

  • Expiration Options. Set if/when a membership level will expire.
  • Access To. Select whether or not the membership level will have access to All Posts, Pages, Comments and Categories.
  • Remove From. Set if a member should be “removed from” any levels when added to the membership level.
  • Add To. Set if a member should be “added to” any additional levels when added to the membership level.

First, set your Expiration Options. The available options are:

  • Ongoing. Select this option if the membership level is for an ongoing membership that does not expire unless the member’s access is cancelled.
  • Fixed Term. Select this option if the membership level will expire after a set period of time after the member registers (e.g. 6 months).
  • Specific Date. Select this option if the membership level will expire on a specific date set by you.

 

Next, set your Access To options. The available options are:

  • All Posts. Select this option if this membership level should have access to ALL posts in your membership site regardless of your individual post access settings.
  • All Pages. Select this option if this membership level should have access to ALL pages in your membership site regardless of your individual page access settings.
  • All Comments. Select this option if this membership level should have access to ALL post comments in your membership site regardless of your individual post comment access settings.
  • All Categories. Select this option if this membership level should have access to ALL categories in your membership site regardless of your individual category access settings.

 

Additional Information

The Access To settings are entirely optional and, in most cases, will be turned off. These would only be turned on for a membership level that has “ultimate” or “superuser” access to everything. For example, a “Platinum” level or an internal team level. In most cases, you will set these options on an individual post/page/comment/category basis using the settings available on those respective screens.

Next, if appropriate, set the Remove From option. This will remove a member from any membership level(s) you have selected at the moment that member is added to this level. For example, this can be useful if you have a trial level that you would like members removed from when they join your paid membership.

Finally, if appropriate, set the Add To option. This will add a member to any additional membership level(s) you have selected at the moment that member is added to this level. For example, this can be useful for managing bonuses or creating a “Member” level that handles forum or admin page access.

Updated on April 10, 2019

Was this article helpful?

Related Articles

Not the solution you were looking for?
Click the link below to submit a support ticket
Submit Ticket