1. Home
  2. General
  3. Force Refresh – Level Expires with Member Still Accessing Content

Force Refresh – Level Expires with Member Still Accessing Content

If a member is assigned a Level that is set to Expire and they are viewing a protected page or post and then their Level expires, they could still be able to view that protected content until they navigate away from that page/post or if the page/post is refreshed in the browser. 

So, they would retain access if they don’t navigate away or refresh the page/post after their Level expires.

This is based on how web pages work (if you stay on a web page and don’t refresh, you can continue to view it).

Typically, a user will navigate away from pages as they check out the site and this won’t be an issue in most cases. But, if content is protected and only available for a short time (Example: set to expire after 1 day) then this is something to consider.

A forced page refresh can help with this.

If the page refreshes after the Level expires, they wouldn’t be able to view the protected content any more.

There is a plugin in the WordPress Plugins directory named Force Refresh.

This plugin (or one like it) could be used to set a refresh on the site or a per page/post basis and set the refresh intervals (timing).

You might want to consider setting the refresh for 3-4 hours (whatever works best for you and your members)

Updated on April 27, 2021

Was this article helpful?

Related Articles

Not the solution you were looking for?
Click the link below to submit a support ticket
Submit Ticket